Soul Food Revival Series

Encouraging Spiritual Intimacy Unto Christ-Like Fruitfulness

So Be It

Scripture memorization for memorization sake is not good enough.  We are not called to know the Word just so we can locate it in the Bible.  Scripture should be so ingrained that it becomes our perspective.  God’s Word becomes my reality and is my experience.  Take for example Isaiah 26:3

You will keep [him] in perfect peace, [Whose] mind [is] stayed [on You], Because he trusts in You.

My aim is not to know where this popular passage rests.  Regardless if I know where it is or not is irrelevant if it is not my experience.  The fact that I enjoy perfect peace is a result of trusting Him.  I trust Him because, Romans 10:11 is settled in my heart.

For the Scripture says, “Whoever believes on Him will not be put to shame.”

This is my perspective and not a mere recited slogan. Therefore, my expectation with every trial and crisis is Romans 8:37

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.

And with the knowledge (revelation) of His love, I agree and confess with the psalmist David,

He only [is] my rock and my salvation; [He is] my defense; I shall not be moved. – Ps 62:6

So if you are going to memorize scripture, go do it.  But, do it with the expectation that it is to become your reality.  For God is faithful and has kept His Word and wants you to believe Him when He said,

“This [is] the covenant that I will make with them after those days, says the LORD: I will put My laws into their hearts, and in their minds I will write them,”
[then He adds], “Their sins and their lawless deeds I will remember no more.” Hebrews 10:16-17

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment